Abu Dhabi Dialogue

The United Arab Emirates (UAE), an active observer state of the Colombo Process, hosted the inaugural Ministerial Consultation between destination countries and Colombo Process countries in Abu Dhabi on 21 and 22 January 2008. The Ministerial Consultation, referred to as the Abu Dhabi Dialogue, brought together for the first time the Colombo Process countries and the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) states plus Yemen and two additional Asian countries of destination, namely Malaysia and Singapore. France, Germany, Mauritius, the Republic of Korea, Japan, Poland and the United States have observer status while the European Commission (EC) is a partner of the Dialogue. The Abu Dhabi Dialogue, therefore, constitutes a milestone in regional cooperation on contractual labour mobility.

Visit ADD website